Islamic Month Names in Urdu and English

Islamic culture and religious traditions heavily rely on the Islamic calendar, commonly known as the Hijri or Lunar calendar. Comprising of 12 months in a year of 354 or 355 days, the Islamic calendar is observed by Muslims around the world. Each month holds a unique significance, and understanding the Islamic month names can provide insights into the rich history and traditions of Islam.

The Importance of Islamic Month Names

For Muslims, the names of the Islamic months are significant both historically and religiously. They commemorate significant occasions in Islamic history and provide Muslims a chance to consider the past and draw lessons for the present and the future. These month names are also used to identify significant religious observances and occasions, such as Ramadan fasting and the annual Hajj journey.

List of Islamic Month Names with meanings

The first month of the Islamic calendar is Muharram, and the last is Dhul-Hijjah. The 12 Islamic month names and their meanings are shown below:

1. Muharram:

The first month, meaning “forbidden” – a time for self-reflection and avoiding conflict.

2. Safar:

The second month, often associated with a “void” or “emptiness.” While not based on any religious significance, superstitions regarding this month are discouraged in Islam.

3. Rabi’ al-Awwal:

The third month, which translates to “the first spring.” It is the month of the birth of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

4. Rabi’ al-Thani:

The fourth month, meaning “the second spring.”

5. Jumada al-Awwal:

The fifth month, translating to “the first of parched land” – a time when water becomes scarce in the Arabian region.

6. Jumada al-Thani:

The sixth month, signifying “the second of parched land.”

7. Rajab:

The seventh month, often considered a sacred month for reflection and preparation, though no specific religious obligations are assigned to it.

8  Sha’ban:

The eighth month, a month of preparation for the upcoming month of Ramadan.

9. Ramadan:

The ninth month, widely known for fasting from dawn till sunset, reflecting on self-discipline, spiritual growth, and empathy for the less fortunate.

10. Shawwal:

The tenth month, a time for celebration as Eid al-Fitr marks the end of Ramadan.

11. Dhul-Qi’dah:

The eleventh month, which means “the month of truce.” Historically, this month was important for settling conflicts.

12. Dhul-Hijjah:

The twelfth month, in which the Hajj pilgrimage takes place. It is a time of spiritual significance and culminates in Eid al-Adha, the Festival of Sacrifice.

Islamic Month Names in Urdu, English and Roman Urdu

For Urdu-speaking Muslims, understanding the Islamic month names in their native language adds a deeper connection to the calendar. The Islamic month names in Urdu are as follows:

English Urdu Roman Urdu
Muharram محرّم یا محرم الحرام Muharram
Safar صفر یا صفر المظفر Safar
Rabi’ al-awwal ربیع الاول Rabi-ul-awwal
Rabi’ al-thani ربیع الثانی Rabi-ath-thaani
Jumada al-awwal جمادی الاول Jumaada-ul-awwal
Jumada al-Thani جمادی الثانی Jumaada-uth-thaani
Rajab رجب یا رجب المرجب Rajab
Sha’aban شعبان یا شعبان المعظم Shaaban
Ramadan رمضان یا رمضان المبارک Ramadhan / Ramzan
Shawwal شوال یا شوال المکرم Shawwal
Dhu al-Qa‘dah ذوالقعدۃ Zul-qa’dah
Dhu al-Hijjah ذوالحجۃ Zul-hijjah

Understanding the Islamic month names in Urdu allows speakers to engage more deeply with the religious and cultural aspects of the calendar.


The Islamic month names hold profound significance for Muslims worldwide. As they progress through these months, believers have the opportunity to reflect on history, deepen their spirituality, and strengthen their connection with the Islamic faith. By understanding the meanings of these month names, individuals can enrich their appreciation for Islamic traditions and values. Whether in Urdu or any other language, the Islamic month names continue to serve as a timeless reminder of the importance of faith, reflection, and unity within the Muslim community.

Related Topics: